1711 Walk is London’s first Pop-Up Baroque Church Crawl: a 17¼ mile walking route linking 12 of London’s finest Baroque churches (or, one case, its ruins).

On Tuesday 12th June 1711, Queen Anne gave royal assent to an Act for Building Fifty New Churches.

In the event, the various Commissions for Building Fifty New Churches built only 12. These are the churches linked by 1711 Walk: Christ Church Spitalfields, St Alfege Greenwich, St Anne Limehouse, St George Bloomsbury, St George in the East, St George Hanover Square, St John Horsleydown (Southwark), St John Smith Square, St Luke Old Street, St Mary le Strand, St Mary Woolnoth and St Paul Deptford.

In recognition of the tercentenary of the Act and to coincide with the launch of 1711 Walk, the National Churches Trust has created a ring-fenced, restricted fund called the National Churches Trust 1711 Fund from which it will be able to make grants to support the preservation and restoration of the 9 Queen Anne Churches which are still in use as places of worship.

 On Sunday 12th June 2011, modern Londoners can mark the exact 300th anniversary of the Act by following the 1711 Walk route from Greenwich to Westminster.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s